Public case informationLast updated

Bank of America 7-Eleven ATM Fee Settlement

Bank of America · 7-Eleven ATM transactions for Bank of America customers · Settlement Reached

About this case

Bank of America agreed to pay $2.25 million to resolve allegations that it overcharged out-of-network ATM fees at FCTI-owned ATMs located inside 7-Eleven stores. The matter has reached a settlement, with claims due by June 29, 2026.

Case overview

Defendant company
Bank of America
Product or service
7-Eleven ATM transactions for Bank of America customers
Case name
Bank of America, 7-Eleven settlement
Court case number
3:19-cv-00264-DMS-MSB
Case status
Settlement Reached
Lawsuit type
Consumer
Reported harm
Billing Fees

Important dates

Former account holder claim
Former Customer ATM Fee Settlement Claim
Former account holder claims
Bank of America ATM fee settlement claim
Former customer settlement claim

Participation information

Former account holder claim

Former Bank of America account holders who received more than one out-of-network balance inquiry fee during the same visit to an FCTI-owned ATM inside a 7-Eleven store between May 1, 2018 and November 26, 2021 may be included in the settlement class. Individuals who received payment from the Weiss v. FCTI, Inc. settlement or a similar class action settlement are excluded.

Claims were to be submitted through the online claim form.

Type
Settlement Claim
Status
Deadline passed
Payout
If approved, eligible customers who submit valid claims are to receive equal shares of the remaining settlement funds.
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Former Customer ATM Fee Settlement Claim

Former Bank of America customers who used qualifying 7-Eleven ATMs and were allegedly charged extra or duplicative fees may have been included in the settlement class.

The article states that former customers needed to file an online claim; the stated deadline has passed.

Type
Settlement Claim
Status
Deadline passed
Total settlement amount
$2,250,000
Payout
A cash payment from the settlement fund was described, but no specific per-claim amount was stated.
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Former account holder claims

Former Bank of America account holders who were charged more than one out-of-network balance inquiry fee during the same visit to an FCTI-owned ATM at a 7-Eleven store between May 1, 2018, and November 16, 2021, and who did not receive payment in the related Weiss v. FCTI, Inc. case, were required to submit a valid claim.

Claims could be filed online through the official settlement website or by mail. The stated deadline has passed.

Type
Settlement Claim
Status
Deadline passed
Total settlement amount
$2,250,000
Payout
Valid claimants will receive an equal share of the net settlement fund, with the amount depending on the number of valid claims and current account holders receiving automatic payments.
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Bank of America ATM fee settlement claim

Current and former Bank of America customers who used FCTI-owned ATMs inside 7-Eleven stores between May 1, 2018 and November 16, 2021 may have been included.

File a claim through the official settlement process if eligible.

Type
Settlement Claim
Status
Deadline passed
Total settlement amount
$2,250,000
Payout
Payments are proportional to the number of valid claims filed.
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Former customer settlement claim

Former Bank of America customers who qualify based on use of certain ATMs at 7-Eleven locations between 2018 and 2021 may have been required to submit a claim.

Submit an online claim by July 29, 2026, to seek compensation.

Type
Settlement Claim
Status
Deadline passed
Total settlement amount
$2,250,000
Payout
Payments to qualifying class members; the individual amount is not specified.
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Current account holder settlement coverage

Current Bank of America account holders who are part of the settlement class do not need to take action.

Type
Settlement Claim
Status
No action required
Payout
If approved, eligible customers are to receive equal shares of the remaining settlement funds.
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Current account holder participation

Current Bank of America account holders who are part of the settlement class were described as not needing to take action.

No action is required according to the article.

Type
Other
Status
No action required

Current customer payment process

Some current Bank of America customers who qualify may have received notice by email or postcard and may not need to submit a claim.

Type
Other
Status
No action required
Payout
Payments may be issued without further action for qualifying customers; individual amounts are not specified.
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Current account holder no-action process

Current Bank of America account holders who used an FCTI-owned ATM inside a 7-Eleven store between May 1, 2018, and November 16, 2021, may have been included.

No action was required for current account holders, according to settlement administrators.

Type
Other
Status
No action required
Total settlement amount
$2,250,000
Payout
Payments were to be distributed proportionally based on the number of impacted current account holders and valid claims submitted by former account holders.
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Former account holder claim

Former Bank of America account holders who were charged more than one out-of-network fee for a balance inquiry at a 7-Eleven ATM between May 1, 2018, and November 16, 2021.

Former account holders must file a claim online to receive settlement benefits.

Type
Settlement Claim
Total settlement amount
$2,250,000
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Current account holder automatic payment

Current Bank of America accountholders who received an email or postcard notice do not need to file a claim.

No claim filing is required according to the stated settlement process. Payments are conditioned on final court approval and resolution of any appeals.

Type
Settlement Claim
Status
No action required
Total settlement amount
$2,250,000
Payout
Eligible covered current account holders are to receive an equal share of the net settlement fund if the settlement receives final approval and any appeals are resolved.
Reported proof requirement
No

Current Customer Automatic Payment Provision

The settlement website states that current Bank of America customers would not need to file a claim and that payments would be issued automatically if the settlement receives final court approval.

Type
Other
Payout
Automatic payment if the settlement receives final court approval, according to the stated settlement terms.
Reported proof requirement
No

Settlement claim

Current or former Bank of America customers may be included if they were charged the allegedly excessive out-of-network ATM fees, subject to the settlement terms.

Type
Settlement Claim
Total settlement amount
$2,250,000
Reported proof requirement
Unclear

Current account holder payment process

Current Bank of America account holders who were charged more than one out-of-network fee for a balance inquiry at a 7-Eleven ATM between May 1, 2018, and November 16, 2021.

No action is required to receive a payment, according to the article.

Type
Other
Status
No action required
Reported proof requirement
No

Sources